Tender is the Night, my summer novel. Photo by author.
Tender is the Night, my summer novel. Photo by author.

Spending my summer days with F. Scott Fitzgerald in hand

This August, I opted for a whole different experience, for free

--

On the last day of July, during a humiliatingly humid and suffocating stretch of summer, I side-stepped into my local library building on Grand Army Plaza in Brooklyn.

Sliding through the revolving front door, a silky, arctic waft of air kissed my sweaty self. The putrid asphalt humidity was at once obliterated by the seductive intensity of the interior icy-breezy crispness of these temperature-controlled library halls.

For New Yorkers, summer days are dog days. The sweltering heat induces a slow, apathetic, low-grade fever, sensed as elevated body temperatures, rivulets of sweat dripping into creases of skin out of nowhere, a mind numbed to a tenth degree of utter dullness. Relief is found only inside escape rooms resembling cathedral-size igloos.

We crave ice, in any form, throbbing ACs, fan-induced gales of wind, energy conservation notwithstanding. Prayers are addressed multiple times to Con Ed throughout the days to please save us from a blackout.

My summer literary escape plan

Inside the library, I awoke from my mental inertia. The metal railing on the stairs felt cold to my touch. I sighed…

--

--

Eva Schicker

Hello. I write about UX, UI, AI, animation, tech, fiction, art, & travel through the eyes of a designer & painter. I live in NYC. Author of Princess Lailya.