My pencil sketch of a Maine bay vista with catamaran, islands, and mountains in the distance.
My pencil sketch of a Maine bay vista with catamaran, islands, and mountains in the distance.

Resuming my city life after a (not so endless) summer in coastal Maine

How I conquer the return-to-work blues in 5 steps

--

Maine, the easternmost state in the United States, is glorious in the summer. Temperatures are cool enough to escape the sweltering infernos of the cities further south, but also hot enough to feel the midday sun penetrating one’s skin, releasing dormant energies and sensations of eternal happiness.

The salty coastal air can heal sorrows and heartbreaks and make one’s nails grow at an exponential rate. This tangy, oxygenated elixir strengthens the body with every breath, stimulates the mind to take on many adventures as soon as the morning fog has cleared.

Maine is about many hours spent outdoors, rugged and beautiful.

Beloved by artists for its incandescent light shimmering off water surfaces and mountain ranges, changing by the minute from turquoise to deep cobalt blues, frail yellows to heavy-laden purples, starry whites to infinite hues of black, Maine is a ballad, a song, a poem.

There, I spend most of my time outdoors, drawing and painting, filling my books with sketches and color impressions of whatever I see around me.

--

--

Eva Schicker

Hello. I write about UX, UI, AI, animation, tech, fiction, art, & travel through the eyes of a designer & painter. I live in NYC. Author of Princess Lailya.